Cutting Cake, With Cake Saw

Decorating By tamcameron Updated 29 Sep 2013 , 12:17pm by cupcakemaker

tamcameron Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tamcameron Posted 19 Sep 2013 , 9:50am
post #1 of 7

AHi there, I'm very new to his sort of business, and have only made two cakes. I'm having a problem cutting the cake into three layers with a cake saw.Can someone advise the best way to do this and should the cake be cold before.

I'm also having a problem making it look perfectly round on top with nice edges and not like wavy..

If any one can help I would be very greatful.

Thanks Rob

6 replies
LizzieAylett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LizzieAylett Posted 19 Sep 2013 , 1:03pm
post #2 of 7

There is a free class on Crafsty called Basic Buttercream or something like that, which gives a really good introduction to the basics like this.  Also, use the search function on this website to see what had already been posted - there's tons of good advice here.

ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 19 Sep 2013 , 1:06pm
post #3 of 7

I know a lot of people hate the Wilton cake saw...but I actually love it and have no problems.   I also always cut a cold cake..maybe that helps.

105sruss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
105sruss Posted 20 Sep 2013 , 3:09am
post #4 of 7

Hi,

A cake wire is good as it pulls through dead evenly, but never do it hot.

CakeGeekUk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeGeekUk Posted 20 Sep 2013 , 1:23pm
post #5 of 7

Hi Rob, I had a huge collection of cake saws/wires/torting devices until I came across my lifesaver tool: its the Kitbox brand cake marking tool and I've never looked back since. (I've written a review here with pic: http://cakegeek.co.uk/index.php/reviews/).  I use that in conjunction with a long bread knife and cut cakes when they are cold (but not refrigerated.)