Help - First Wreck Not Sure What Problem May Have Been!

Decorating By Jessre611 Updated 16 Sep 2013 , 2:19am by mfeagan

Jessre611 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jessre611 Posted 9 Sep 2013 , 12:10am
post #1 of 19

I am hoping I can get some feedback here so this doesn't happen again.  I am a hobby baker who does cakes for friends and family, and have been doing this for about three years now.  I suppose my beginners luck has run out as I've had my first wreck.

I'll post pics, but this cake was in perfect condition prior to leaving my home about 3 hours prior to this party.  As you can seen in the pics it slid on itself.  My friend reports she first noticed it upon arriving home with the cake and that it progressed form there.  

I have been trouble shooting possible problems in my head, so I'd love feedback on what you all think most likely happened.

The cake was supposed to be picked up Friday for the party Saturday, so the cake was actually completed thursday late at night and had been sitting and seemed fine.  My friend had an emergency and wasn't able to pick it up until Saturday morning.  

Was the icing too thin?  It seemed like my usual consistency with a thick dam between each layer

Was it just too hot here is south Louisiana?  Possibly but I've done three other cakes recently (in the last 2 weeks) with no problems and no sliding at all and the weather hasn't changed that much in that time

Was it in the construction?  I have done the thin layers like this before with no problems, and the layer measured only 4.25" tall in total so it wasn't an excessively tall cake.

And finally I keep wondering could possibly be something my friend did in transport, like possibly sit the cake on an incline?  She claims this happened to her sons birthday cake last year (not made by me) too