Is This A Possible Career?

Business By novakern Updated 28 Aug 2013 , 8:06pm by melimel00

novakern Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
novakern Posted 19 Aug 2013 , 12:24pm
post #1 of 8

I'm a painter/sculptor who has always enjoyed baking. I recently started making some cakes for money and have found the baking part somewhat stressful. I love doing the fondant decorations and people and with my sculptural background can basically make anything.

do bakers ever buy the decorations? or hire out someone to do the sculpting?

thanks in advance

7 replies
kikiandkyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikiandkyle Posted 19 Aug 2013 , 1:31pm
post #2 of 8

AThere are people who buy and sell toppers, flowers and other assorted sculpted cake adornments on Etsy and eBay etc, I don't know how much of a career it is in terms of making your sole income from it. If you plan on doing it from home you have to make sure it's legal for you to do so in your city/state.

Stitches Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stitches Posted 19 Aug 2013 , 2:50pm
post #3 of 8

There are plenty of bakeries that are looking for people like you that have artistic skills. You could pick-up some hours every weekend helping out their decorators.

Are you familiar with Karen Portaleo (if not google her)? I believe she was a sculptor before working on cakes. If you can do anything similar..........go for it!

novakern Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
novakern Posted 20 Aug 2013 , 7:50pm
post #4 of 8

I will! you have given me hope. It would also be great to be doing the work in a bakery where I wouldn't have to worry about inspections and legalities that I haven't even begun to explore.

kikiandkyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikiandkyle Posted 20 Aug 2013 , 7:56pm
post #5 of 8

AAre there any 'famous' bakeries in your area? If you have a particular talent for sculpting you may stand to get paid more at one of those places that regularly gets requests for figures.