Buttercream V Fondant Grass?

Decorating By rebekahs Updated 26 Aug 2013 , 1:21am by auzzi

rebekahs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rebekahs Posted 9 Aug 2013 , 12:41pm
post #1 of 8

AHi everyone, I've just joined today but have been browsing a while, I'm very new to cake making and this is only the 5th decorated cake I'm attempting so I'd be really grateful for some advice. For my dad's birthday cake I have made a cake with a path cut into it, two tier and I've crumb coated it and frozen it as I work full time and just wouldn't have time to do all in one go weekend after next. My questions are (a) should i use buttercream or fondant grass - I was gonna do crumbled Oreos/digestive biscuits for the path with small black/grey fondant rocks to border it and the rest of the cake grassed, with a seat and a pond at the top and a fondant figure of my dad (he's a walker); (b) do u have any tips for defrosting this and stopping it drying out? It's already assembled with dowels, I know I should have fondanted each tier before assembling but couldn't decide how to do it; and finally (c) should i use tylo and fondant for the figure or modelling paste, have only used the former before?? Any tips very much appreciated thanks

7 replies
Poshcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Poshcakes Posted 9 Aug 2013 , 8:03pm
post #2 of 8

Well, I have some ideas for grass... the cake only has a crumb coat. make grass green butter cream and use a grass icing tip all over the cake, that is really easy or make fondant cut into strips snip the tops to look like grass and layer I think I would start and the top of the cake and make the grass bend somewhat to help hide the strip then add another layer and so on.  I think the best will be the butter cream grass. 

For defrosting I have heard of people making a cardboard box for the whole cake to set in so that condensation will not mess the cake up when leaving it out to defrost. Maybe the box just might help to not dry out the cake...