Cake Was Not A Disaster, But I'm Kicking Myself!!!

Decorating By luvmykids2bits Updated 29 Jul 2013 , 11:19pm by MissAnn1

luvmykids2bits Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvmykids2bits Posted 28 Jul 2013 , 12:34am
post #1 of 7

So I am very new to cake decorating for more than just family, and I had someone approach me six months ago about making a wedding cake.  I was thrilled to pieces, and gave her a quote, and really underpriced myself even at that point since it was my first wedding cake and I didn't want to overcharge.  Well, fast forward six months and I've learned a ton and feel way more confident, and spent the last two days making RKT dummy layers, building the cake, making the top real layer, icing the roses and dusting it with luster dust.  I was about halfway through the dummy layers and realized I had really underpriced myself, and by the time I was done I realized I had GROSSLY underpriced.  When I delivered the cake (rock solid construction, thanks to the advice here, it didn't move a smidge!), someone who was supposed to have the balance of the cake money (the bride had paid a deposit), said, "It's $400 for the cake, right?" and I wanted to cry when I corrected her because I was wanting to scream, "that's what I should have charged!!"  I am actually too embarrassed to admit how little I actually charged for the cake.  Lesson learned, I guess.  The staff at the venue loved the cake, as did the family of the bride that was there. 

6 replies
BeesKnees578 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeesKnees578 Posted 28 Jul 2013 , 3:06am
post #2 of 7

That is cute!

You could have saved yourself a crap-load of time (and probably $ as cereal is expensive and RKT are a TOTAL PITA to make IMHO) by using styro dummies.  They really aren't that expensive.

Did they want RKT for their dessert?

Just some thoughts for next time...