Gargoyle Wings

Decorating By Teesh01 Updated 14 Aug 2013 , 6:53am by Teesh01

Teesh01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Teesh01 Posted 22 Jul 2013 , 12:48pm
post #1 of 18

Hi all you very talented people out there.

I've been lurking for a very long time now icon_smile.gif this is my very first post... I am not a professional but love making the occasional cake for a friends birthday etc I don't often get to do them because it can be expensive and I don't sell cakes... but I enjoy it and have fun...

Anyway my question is: I am going to attempt this gargoyle for my friends birthday as she loves them but I'm afraid of the wings as they are quit big and I have not a clue as to how I can get such heavy set wings to stay in place and secure. I was thinking rice crispies to keep it light any other suggestions would be most welcome.. Also what sort of wire would I get to try shape the wings?

Apologies in advance if this question has come up before.. like I said it's just a hobby I love and this is only my third fondant cake icon_redface.gif and I have only done a few basic buttercream bears in the past...  Have mucked around and done some fun cupcakes recently too...

17 replies
Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 22 Jul 2013 , 2:29pm
post #2 of 18

What sort of size cake are you thinking? smaller will be easier :-) I would suggest maybe going with a design that has smaller wings perhaps... there are 'cute' gargoyles which are quite cartoony that would be more doable with big eyes and wee wings that you could do with just a wee curl of fondant... bigger wings will need internal support like dowels which may need to be screwed into you base to stop them falling over and pulling the cake to bits :-( Hopefully I can help some more later when I'm at a pc that can post pictures! (Groan) :-)

Crazy-Gray Posted 23 Jul 2013 , 9:55am
post #3 of 18