Cut Out Shapes On Fondant Cake Cover

Decorating By hawk21 Updated 15 Jul 2013 , 1:04pm by sixinarow

hawk21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hawk21 Posted 14 Jul 2013 , 4:08pm
post #1 of 6

I want to use some stencils to cut out shapes on the sides of a fondant that will cover my cake.  Do you do this before covering the cake or do you do it once it is place on the cake?

5 replies
DaLush Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DaLush Posted 14 Jul 2013 , 4:15pm
post #2 of 6

I have never done this before but in my opinion I would do it after applying the fondant to the cake, because when applying fondant it kind of stretches and pulls and you could lose the shape you are wanting... I would try and make your hand as steady as possible and then using a exacto blade or something like it to cut out your shape.... HTH Good Luck!

jessicastott Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessicastott Posted 15 Jul 2013 , 12:15am
post #3 of 6

AI did the same for my sons cake. I put the fondant on the cake first then applied the shapes with a bit of water. [IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3055384/width/200/height/400[/IMG]

hawk21 Posted 15 Jul 2013 , 12:12pm
post #4 of 6

My intention is not to apply cut out shapes but rather cut out parts of the fondant that is applied to the cake's sides so that you see a bit of the buttercream (a contrasting color to the fondant).  I saw a photo of this and it is very interesting.

hawk21 Posted 15 Jul 2013 , 12:15pm
post #5 of 6

This is a photo of what I want to do.  My dilemma is how this is done.

sixinarow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sixinarow Posted 15 Jul 2013 , 1:04pm
post #6 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk21 

This is a photo of what I want to do.  My dilemma is how this is done.