My First Disaster!

Decorating By rsaun Updated 11 Jul 2013 , 10:21pm by maybenot

rsaun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rsaun Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 1:17am
post #1 of 19

I have been shipping out cookies for several years.  I have the way I prepare, package, and wrap them down to a science.  One time I had 1 cookie break in transit, and since then, I always include an extra for each dozen.  This week has been TREMENDOUSLY hot and humid.  I shipped out Monday, and got word today that 2/3 of the cookies were broken, cracked, a mess.  I am heartbroken.  This person is a childhood acquaintance and first-time customer who ordered these back in December for her daughter's birthday.  There's no way that I can get more baked, decorated and shipped to have them to her by Saturday.  I offered a refund and she said she feels bad taking a refund.  What would YOU do to make it right?  Refund her for 2/3 of the order and include a certificate for free shipping on her next order?  That's what I'm thinking...

18 replies
denetteb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
denetteb Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 3:38am
post #2 of 19

Refund the full order.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 5:23am
post #3 of 19

Don't work for free.  Broken or not, they're still going to eat them.  Ask what your friend would like for you to do.

rsaun Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 5:36am
post #4 of 19

I did end up talking to her.  She said basically the same thing as CWR41...that I still did the work and they will eat the broken ones...so she just asked for 1/2 of her money for cookies and 1/2 of the postage back.  I gave that to her with a voucher for one dozen cookies free with any other order she places.  She was great about it once we finally talked.  I just feel like crap!

mermaidcakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mermaidcakery Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 5:48am
post #5 of 19

AI wonder what the box looked like. Don't blame yourself, shipping can be so unreliable