Skull Cake Decorating!

Decorating By hydra234 Updated 25 Sep 2013 , 1:42am by BrandisBaked

hydra234 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hydra234 Posted 9 Jul 2013 , 10:17am
post #1 of 7

Hello!

Wonder if anyone could help me? I have hired a wilton skull cake tin and am looking to decorate it in a day of the dead style. I am guessing to do this I will need to use royal icing, but what is the trick to covering a cake properly, so things lie the sunken eyes and nose still show ( as you can tell I am a novice!)
Also, what tools would be needed for the decorating? Should I be using an icing or a special pen? I'm looking to put a rose in one of the eye sockets which I am semi confident about making but any tips on this and all the above would be hugely appreciated, Thank you!

Emma xx

6 replies
crumbcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crumbcake Posted 15 Sep 2013 , 1:44am
post #2 of 7

AI would use fondant to cover the skull, it would adhere to the shape of the skull.

NanaNori Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NanaNori Posted 15 Sep 2013 , 1:53am
post #3 of 7

If  your talking "day of the dead" as in the Mexican stylized version...check your wilton website, they will have walk through directions on how to do the decorating.  I too recommend fondant to cover the skull.  be SURE to get a sturdy pound cake type reciepe as that will be MOST important. Your cake will need the density to hold together well. this was one of my "first tries" at the skull cake...just used powdered sugar. I did make the fondant bow and candy eyes.  But as you can see with the fondant...I think that it would have been MUCH better if I covered the whole thing ....

Happy halloween!

lindseyjhills Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lindseyjhills Posted 15 Sep 2013 , 10:20am
post #4 of 7