Weigh Using A Kitchen Scale ?

Decorating By LoveonCloudCupcake Updated 31 Mar 2017 , 3:40am by beckylam

LoveonCloudCupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoveonCloudCupcake Posted 6 Jul 2013 , 9:46pm
post #1 of 9

AOk I'm not an expert at using a kitchen scale. It confuses me to no end. I tried to make a recipe one time that had measurements in grams and cups. How exactly do you measure it? My weights were off in grams from the original post? I was filling my measuring cup up to the 1 cup line but came out higher than what it should've been. So what did I do wrong? Do I have to weigh the measuring cup first then subtract what that weighs?

8 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 6 Jul 2013 , 9:56pm
post #2 of 9

AMost kitchen scales should have a tare button that can be used to account for the weight of the cup. Put the cup on the scale, hit the tare button, then measure the ingredients using that cup. If you use a different container, you have to tare again.

DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 7 Jul 2013 , 12:06am
post #3 of 9

AAlso known as zeroing. My scale has a zero button.

mcaulir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcaulir Posted 7 Jul 2013 , 12:14am
post #4 of 9

If your recipe has the measurements in grams and cups for each ingredient, you use either grams or cups, not both.

So you put whatever bowl you're going to be mixing in on the scale, push the zero button, then add the ingredient until the scale reads 250g or whatever amount. Then you push the zero button again, and add the next ingredient and so on.

If some ingredients are given in grams, and some in cups, then use whatever measurment is given - perhaps grams for the butter, but cups for the sugar.

Edwin25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Edwin25 Posted 6 Jan 2014 , 9:21am
post #5 of 9

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoveonCloudCupcake