Client Never Paid For Cake...

Business By BellaSweet Updated 2 Jul 2013 , 8:58pm by SystemMod1

BellaSweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BellaSweet Posted 30 Jun 2013 , 11:22pm
post #1 of 33

ALet's get straight to the issue. :smile: I made a wedding and groom's cake for a client almost two months ago and she hasn't paid. She actually sent two checks with my business name after I had already told her I needed the checks in my own name.mso she said she would resend new checks. They never came. About three weeks ago she texted that she had forgotten and they would be in the mail the next day. 3 weeks later to today I have called, emailed, and texted. She has not responded about where the payment is. I have been doing cakes for eight years and never had this problem. I have also known her my entire life through church. I have learned my lesson and have now begun a rule of not doing a cake until full payment has been recieved. my question is, what else do I do. Do I just consider it a loss, keep trying?..

32 replies
AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 30 Jun 2013 , 11:26pm
post #2 of 33

AThe answer to this is never again make a cake if you have not been paid in full. Keep pursuing if you want to, but don't do that again.

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 30 Jun 2013 , 11:29pm
post #3 of 33

Have you tried to cash the checks with your business name on them?  I don't have a checking account with my official business name on it, but I have deposited checks made out to my business in the past.  If you are declaring taxes, it might not be possible, but my business is very, very small (basically expanded hobby) so I was able to deposit the check.  Give it a try.

If you are at church with her, it might make it easier to just call it a loss.  Or, you could send a collector after her.  

LKing12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LKing12 Posted 1 Jul 2013 , 12:49am
post #4 of 33