How Do I Even Begin????

Decorating By vianrey Updated 23 Jun 2013 , 12:07am by vianrey

vianrey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vianrey Posted 22 Jun 2013 , 4:35am
post #1 of 10

ASo Im a hobby baker and my nieces sweet 16 is coming up and she wants me to make her this beauty and the beast cake. The only problem is that I have never made a cake this huge ans I have no idea where to start?? I just have so many questions lol like do they sell.edible.pearls? How would I stack a sphere cake like that or how do I stack this cake period.....please help!!!!!!

9 replies
vianrey Posted 22 Jun 2013 , 4:35am
post #2 of 10
LizzieAylett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LizzieAylett Posted 22 Jun 2013 , 9:28am
post #3 of 10

Wow!  That is quite some cake!

How many servings do you need?  Because just the bottom two would provide quite a lot - which might mean that you could get away with using styrofoam ball dummies for the round parts, which would make everything much easier for you.

I would make it by making the base cake, a styrofoam dummy separator, second cake, two more dummy separators, and then either dummies or cake baked using the ball pan.

I don't know if you have experience with the SPS but that is reputed to be fantastic for stacking bigger cakes.  Otherwise I would put a reasonably thick food-grade PVC pipe from the board all the way up through the cake, then dowel and board between each individual tier.

The larger pearls look like they're formed from fondant using a mold.  You can buy various molds at most cake decorating shops.  The pearls can be dusted with pearl dust to give them the sheen.  It is possbile to buy pearly dragees to stick on individually too, if you prefer.

This cake will cost you a lot in terms of ingredients and tools so be prepared.  It will also take a long time to make.  You should also consider how you plan to transport it to the location of the party.

Have fun!

DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile