First "real" Cake

Decorating By curlingpenguins Updated 30 Jul 2013 , 3:44pm by hbquikcomjamesl

curlingpenguins Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
curlingpenguins Posted 18 Jun 2013 , 4:55pm
post #1 of 14

Hi everyone. I'm new to posting here but I've been lurking for a bit doing some research for a baby shower cake I was planning to make. This was my first time making a layered cake and my first time using fondant. I do a lot of baking, but I focus more on cookies, cupcakes, etc. I'm definitely burnt out from doing this cake (I did it in tandem with two batches each of Oreo truffles and cake balls), but I'm definitely looking forward to making more in the future, especially now that I've had some experience with fondant! icon_biggrin.gif Anyways, here's a picture of the cake. What do you think?

13 replies
curlingpenguins Posted 18 Jun 2013 , 5:00pm
post #2 of 14

AI should probably clarify, I'm not a professional by any means and this was for a friend's baby shower. Baking is a hobby for me :)

rjcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rjcakes Posted 18 Jun 2013 , 8:16pm
post #3 of 14

It's very cute - love the colors! Your fondant looks very smooth!

KarenK55 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KarenK55 Posted 18 Jun 2013 , 8:24pm
post #4 of 14

Very nicely done... great job!

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 18 Jun 2013 , 8:27pm
post #5 of 14

It looks great, it looks professional, with clean lines.

NHQUEEN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NHQUEEN Posted 18 Jun 2013 , 8:28pm
post #6 of 14

Wonderful Job!!

amybroughton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amybroughton Posted 18 Jun 2013 , 8:56pm
post #7 of 14

A[IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3036935/width/200/height/400[/IMG] This is a picture of my first cake using fondant, I would love to hear some feedback on it! Thanks, Amy

webby2013 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
webby2013 Posted 18 Jun 2013 , 9:11pm
post #8 of 14