Can Anyone Help With Edible Printer Questions?

Decorating By Toribean Updated 28 May 2013 , 3:31am by auntginn

Toribean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Toribean Posted 26 May 2013 , 2:08am
post #1 of 11

AI everyone, I am a newbie looking into edible printers and see that Canon is the way to go. I'm torn over getting an older model printer vs a newer model. how often do they upgrade the models where you can continue to order the edible ink? I'm looking to do cookies/cupcakes with my daughter who has low muscle tone and loves baking. she is special needs and this is a a,wonderful way for us to work together. We make them for all occasions for family, gifts for teachers,, therapists Etc... My sister also makes cakes for charity so I can do images for her as well. I'm worried about making an investment only to find that in a few months to a year the printer has been discontinued and the inks are difficult to find.

Thanks for having me in this group and for any help :)

10 replies
auntginn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntginn Posted 26 May 2013 , 6:17am
post #2 of 11

Hi Toribean and welcome to CC.  I don't think your going to have to worry about the Canon printer like you imagine.

I have been printing edible sheets for about 12 years now.  What I did from day one is buy a Canon priner that was on sale.  Then bought new empty cartridges from ebay and amazon.  I buy the refill edible ink bottles and just fill my own cartridges.  Not hard to do at all.  

There are 2 very good companies to work with.  If you use either one of these you can't go wrong.  #1 https://www.kopykake.com   and #2 https://www.icingimages.com

You will have other questions, feel free to ask for ask.  both companies have customer support as well.

savannahquinn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
savannahquinn Posted 26 May 2013 , 12:09pm
post #3 of 11