How Do I Get My Swiss Buttercream White?

Decorating By carscott Updated 2 May 2013 , 5:04pm by Stitches

carscott Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carscott Posted 30 Apr 2013 , 3:21am
post #1 of 11

I am a newbie and I need the wisdom of the wonderful cake experts on CC.  Swiss buttercream is my love, my passion.  I have converted almost everyone to whom I have introduced this wonderful frosting too.  My problem now is that sometimes I need this to be white.  I have tried  adding white coloring and it did not help much. I was hesitant to add too much coloring because I did not want to spoil the taste or consistency.  Any advice? I have tried googling this and have not come up with anything concrete.

I have seen pictures on here with very white looking SMBC. I don;t know if it was mostly the lighting in the pictures.  Advice please.  Thanks.

10 replies
KathleenC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathleenC Posted 30 Apr 2013 , 5:24am
post #2 of 11

I also love SMBC!

However, I think it's impossible to get SMBC white.  It's the nature of the beast, because the main ingredient is butter.  There are different shades of butter available, but butter, being what it is, isn't white, so neither will your icing be, unfortunately.  It's always going to be ecru at best.  :-)

Apparently there are ways of whitening it somewhat, by using organic uncoloured butter (not sure where to buy this...health food store?), or substituting shortening for some of the butter (but wouldn't that change the wonderful flavour of SMBC?), or adding whitening (Wilton White doesn't work...I've tried it).  I also have used clear "vanilla", but I didn't care for the difference in taste (plus it really didn't help a whole lot) so I went back to pure vanilla.  I've tried mixing it longer to see if it would make a difference (mixing it "whiter"), but it didn't make a huge difference.