Newbie Needs Your Help :)

Decorating By Homemadebytz Updated 3 Apr 2013 , 7:32pm by Homemadebytz

Homemadebytz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Homemadebytz Posted 3 Apr 2013 , 6:19pm
post #1 of 6

Hi everyone ... I have been lurking for sometime and recently signed up. You all do amazing amazing work and I hope to be half that good some day.

I am brand new to cake making/decorating I love it and enjoy it so much but have only been doing a few at home and for friends.

Anyway my question is .. I am making my first 2 tier cake for a party and it will also be my first time using MMF or any fondant for that matter. 

Any absolute must do/know tips you have for a beginner who has had no training?

Also do you think I should just go with buttercream and smooth it out like crazy then decorate or should I try the fondant. I want the cake to be clean cut looking (Its a chevron style cake). 

Another question- do I decorate then assemble there or should I put it together then take it to the location, I have done a 2 tier at home and didnt use dowels (it was a really small cake tho) but I hear you have to use those .. I am sooo confused and nervous about this and I just want it to look good.

Please please please I need help and I will greatly appreciate any help you can give. 

Sorry to be so desperate .. but I could use some guidance lol Thank you guys!!

5 replies
Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 3 Apr 2013 , 6:30pm
post #2 of 6

I think you should decorate with a very smooth buttercream and then make a chevron pattern out of fondant and attach it to the buttercream, so that some of the chevron is fondant and some is buttercream.  I hope you understand what I am saying.  Covering an entire cake with fondant takes practice and if it's your first time it might be a frustrating struggle.  I personally have sworn off covering cakes with fondant, at least for now!icon_biggrin.gif