Newbie Looking For Recommendations On Courses In Ireland

Decorating By AmyKY Updated 1 Apr 2013 , 12:11pm by AmyKY

AmyKY Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmyKY Posted 29 Mar 2013 , 12:39pm
post #1 of 6

Hi guys, 

Im just new to the cake decorating scene and love it, I have done a few projects before but i am really interested in improving my skills gain confidence and taking the next step to hopefully make a career from home as i have been told many times i should pursue as my cakes turn out so well for an inexperienced beginner.

I have been looking at courses in Ireland and I was looking at the PME diploma modules. Does anyone have recommendations for any particular school? I live in the west and nothing is available here.

Many thanks xxx

5 replies
Margaret393 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Margaret393 Posted 29 Mar 2013 , 2:34pm
post #2 of 6

Hi AmyKY

Try www.cookshop.ie I completed the PME Professional Diploma - "Masters Certificate" in Cork last year. I am from the Mid-West region, but there were students from Dublin in the classes - whose preference for Cork was based on reputable PME instructors there. Although I am  hobby decorator myself I would recommend this course, which is a great start for beginners! It also covers the business aspects of cake decorating - a must for Professionals.

I gained alot of confidence and inspiration - from the broad range of new techniques taught on the PME Diploma Course. As a matter of fact it was one of my classmates who suggested that I post photos of my final assessment work to Cake Central - this was my first introduction to this great CC website!!!

I wish you well in the future. Happy Baking!!!

Hope this helps!

Margaret393

Margaret393 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Margaret393 Posted 29 Mar 2013 , 2:50pm
post #3 of 6

Love the Gingerbread Men and Cookies in your Avatar Photo!  You will enjoy the PME Royal Icing Module - with those piping skills demonstrated. Well done!

Margaret393