Comission Vs Rental Fee

Business By slambert2674 Updated 28 Mar 2013 , 3:17am by Stitches

slambert2674 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
slambert2674 Posted 22 Mar 2013 , 1:13am
post #1 of 16

I have been approached by a bakery to do some decorating for them.  I've been doing cakes for a couple of years in my home but never for a business.  The owner wants to discuss either a commission or a rental fee for me to use her space.  Is anyone experienced with this?  What should I be asking for a commission or what would a fair rental fee be?  I will be bringing some clientele with me but mostly decorating for her clients.

15 replies
manddi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
manddi Posted 22 Mar 2013 , 2:02am
post #2 of 16

A??? They want you to decorate for them and they want to charge you? I must be reading this wrong...

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 22 Mar 2013 , 4:03am
post #3 of 16

AIt doesn't sound like you two are on the same page, from your description it sounds like the owner wants to purchase your products wholesale and then resell them in her bakery. This can work, but you need to make sure you are legally set up to sell wholesale (which will probably involve a health inspection).

If you will just be decorating cakes the bakery has made, you would want to either be hired as an employee or work as an independent contractor (paid hourly).

Unlimited Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Unlimited Posted 22 Mar 2013 , 6:14am
post #4 of 16

Subcontractors generally use their own tools, are required to claim and pay their own taxes, set their own hours, and can turn down work or accept the jobs they want to do.