Help With A Half And Half Sheet Cake

Decorating By cpastel Updated 22 Mar 2013 , 12:15am by connie9003

cpastel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cpastel Posted 18 Mar 2013 , 4:02pm
post #1 of 14

Ok, tried to do a half dh yellow and dh devils food cake in a 11 x 15 pan. The baking  times were off by 2-3 minutes on box, so I thought I would be ok, but when I cooked them the yellow baked fine but not the chocolate. Still not cooked through in center. Used two flower nails evenly spaced in middle of pan. Temp set for 325 and baked for 46minutes. The recipe I used was a doctored Wilton recipe (dream whip). Any suggestions. I would even do the dh yellow cake made into chocolate if possible using this recipe so they would bake the same. I did try just adding cocoa powder to a dh yellow cake mix,but it tasted terrible on my trial cake.  Saw on an older forum.  Any help is greatly appreciated as I am new to this. 

The recipe that is used is:

dh mix

envelope dream whip

4 eggs

cup milk

13 replies
ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 18 Mar 2013 , 4:14pm
post #2 of 14

Are you baking them in the same pan?  When I do a half 'n half...I bake separately...2 quarter sheets and put together on the board to make the half sheet. 

cpastel Posted 18 Mar 2013 , 4:18pm
post #3 of 14

I wanted to make in same pan since I don't have other cake pans. Trying to avoid having to purchase more pans. Thought about putting nails on chocolate side instead of yellow batter side to see how that would bake but I hate to have to make yet another cake. I have noticed a lot of people using your idea and may have to do that if no other suggestions.  Thank you for replying!

Margaret393 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Margaret393 Posted 18 Mar 2013 , 4:41pm
post #4 of 14