Starting Out - Clarification And Name Help

Business By ashley_w_101 Updated 14 Mar 2013 , 7:45pm by rica827

ashley_w_101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashley_w_101 Posted 12 Mar 2013 , 6:54pm
post #1 of 11

Hello,

I have been making cakes for around eight years now, but I haven't posted or been active here in several years.  I stay busy working full time and have three kiddos!  I have continued to make cakes for my friends and family and always turn down anyone asking to purchase a cake since I was aware of the Texas laws for selling food out of your home.  I needed some ideas for a friend's cake I did this past weekend, and in lurking around here, realized that the Texas Cottage Food Law had passed.  I have read up a lot about it and I'm excited to get started to do a few cakes here and there for profit. 

You all have such a wealth of information and talent; I wanted to ask a few questions before I get my feet wet. 

I have read about the law, and from what I can understand, I can make a cake in my home and sell it (without charging taxes) as long as no fillings/icing need refrigeration, the customer picks it up from my house or mails the money, and I do not provide utensils or a place to eat. I also need to have a label with my address, required statement, and allergy information. Am I missing anything?  

I plan to come up with a business name and complete the DBA.  Many have said they need a tax id # to buy in bulk, while others have said they were told they did not need one.  I don't plan to buy in bulk, because I won't be baking that much, but I think I should apply for the number in case I need it in the future.  Are there any other forms or items I need in addition to these two?