Do You Charge For The Top Tier On A Wedding Cake...

Business By SweetAngiesCake Updated 14 Mar 2013 , 4:42pm by LoveMeSomeCake615

SweetAngiesCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetAngiesCake Posted 11 Mar 2013 , 9:16pm
post #1 of 12

I am new at this and I am overwhelmed reading all the links about wedding cakes here!  There is a lot of them!  :)  I have never done a wedding cake before.  I am a home baker.  The bride wants the cake to feed 100 people.  the cake will be square and will be stacked, and I am currently trying to figure out what size pans to use.  I am thinking doing a 10, 8, and 6.  But that is my problem.  I have read that the top tier doesn't count, since that is sent home with the bride/groom for their 1 year anniversary.  So, with that being said, those size pans wouldn't work.  It wouldn't feed everyone since i cant count the 6 inch tier (it would only feed 82 people).  So, i next looked at doing a 12, 10, 8, 6 cake, but that would feed to many.  Not counting the 6 inch tier (because that goes to the bride/groom), that make up would feed 154.  Not sure what way to go.  Any advice would be great!  Also, speaking of the 6 inch top tier, what do you charge for that, since its only for the bridge and groom??  icon_eek.gif

11 replies
DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 11 Mar 2013 , 9:23pm
post #2 of 12

ATo answer the header of your post, absolutely! Just because try will save it for a year doesn't mean thy he it free!

Personally, I always recommend the couple come back in a year for a replica. There's no way year old frozen cake will be good. If they really want to keep some for tradition, save 2 slices.

brenda549 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brenda549 Posted 11 Mar 2013 , 9:40pm
post #3 of 12