Newbie That Needs Serious Advising! Help!!!!

Decorating By Jx2MAMA Updated 19 Mar 2013 , 7:36pm by LNW

Jx2MAMA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jx2MAMA Posted 9 Mar 2013 , 3:59am
post #1 of 17

Ok I don't know where to start this thread but maybe someone can at least link me to my answers. I've been making cakes personally for about 5 years and after insistence from family and friends, I opened myself up to take orders from anyone and have gotten REALLY busy. Last weekend, me (by myself!), did 6 cakes. Complicated ones as seen in my album. Anyway, the biggest problem I have is that I make these cakes beautiful and then.. put them in the car for delivery. There are way too many problems to list them and expect anyone to try to figure out the specific reason why each one happened so I will just give you guys my general process to completing orders and if anyone would kindly just give me simple tips and tricks that might could help, that would be great. I make my cakes for the weekend Monday-Tuesday and freeze them, Wednesday I do any details that need time to harden and then Thursday, I get the cakes out and let them defrost overnight before starting to decorate on Friday. I'm thinking maybe one thing I don't do is put the cakes completely together and ice them the day before decorating. I thinking I'm having problems also with either fondant or the weight of a top tier. I was rolling it pretty thin but it was starting to rip as I smoothed it out so I started rolling thicker and today for example, it started to crack on the way to deliver. Thanks!!!

16 replies
reginaherrin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
reginaherrin Posted 9 Mar 2013 , 4:20am
post #2 of 17

I am a bit confused, besides the problem with the fondant ripping what problems/questions are you having?  More information is needed to help you out.

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 9 Mar 2013 , 4:22am
post #3 of 17

Yes, you didn't tell us what problem you were having.