Need Advice From Some Cake-Pro's

Decorating By marnik8 Updated 9 Mar 2013 , 12:09am by ellavanilla

marnik8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marnik8 Posted 7 Mar 2013 , 3:42am
post #1 of 8

New to decorating, want some input.

How much time in advance can I decorate with buttercream and fondant and leave the cake out without it getting nasty/dry/whatever happens when it's out too long uncovered? 

I'm wanting to decorate a good 36 hours before the party b/c I won't have much time the day of.  Also want to factor into things coming up that I may need extra time for last minute crisis. 

I'm new to cake decorating so any thoughts would be great.

7 replies
LKing12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LKing12 Posted 7 Mar 2013 , 4:00am
post #2 of 8

I always have the cake completed the day before delivery/pick up.

handymama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
handymama Posted 7 Mar 2013 , 4:17am
post #3 of 8

Wednesday: bake, cool, level, fill, stack, wrap, let set overnight with weight on top

Thursday: ice and fondant; make accent items

Friday: decorate

Saturday: deliver

Ducky316 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ducky316 Posted 7 Mar 2013 , 4:57am
post #4 of 8

If the cake is due Saturday, and I have fondant accents or characters, I will start on those the weekend before....But I bake, ice and decorate all on the Friday before pickup. If I am covering the cake with fondant I will make that the day before.... I have a friend who pre bakes way in advance and freezes them, and her customers never complain about it being dry, or not tasting fresh...but I just can't bring mysself to do that LOL

marnik8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marnik8 Posted 7 Mar 2013 , 7:32pm
post #5 of 8

Handimama,