Frusterated/confused!

Business By Tacy09 Updated 18 Jan 2013 , 2:40pm by BakingIrene

Tacy09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tacy09 Posted 17 Jan 2013 , 2:11am
post #1 of 11

ASo I have been running a home based bakerys for about 3 years now. I interned for 2 years and when the woman I worked with retired I'v been on my own, things are ok (its feast or famine). This week however has really gotten me down, I have always wanted to open a store front, but I'm marrying a farmer so I knew I would have to put that dream on hold untill we had more capital. But now I have gotten a call from the bank saying what little money I did have (iv paid off college as I go do I don't have debt, but its left me poor) is gone as someone got my credit card info, so now I have to find a 3rd job in order to make ends meet. Then I am on facebook tonight and see a lady who does cakes ( I live in a small midwestern town so many people do) wants to open a bakery, her cakes are terrible and she WAY underprices things so I have been screwed out of cakes because people think I should charge $25 for a cake! I really want to say screw it and open a shop, but I have no capital and that seems foolish but a small town like this can't support 2 shops so if this lady opens a place first I don't have a shot! This is just so frusterating, iv done everything right and have built a customer base and taught people the value of my work and it could all be down the drain because I'm young and not as established! Ahhhh! I wish there was an easy answer!

10 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 17 Jan 2013 , 2:22am
post #2 of 11

Somebody got your credit card info?  3 cards?

You get on the phone to the companies, and then you write letters. 

You do NOT pay those stolen balances until you have talked to a lawyer. Call your state law society and ask for a referral--they give a half hour of FREE time.