How To Keep Cake Moist?

Baking By IAN429 Updated 4 Oct 2012 , 11:55pm by trebakes

IAN429 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAN429 Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 2:40am
post #1 of 9

Hi all,

I am going to attempt making my son's first bday cake...I am very new to cake decorating, just make the simple cakes at home. I want to make a basic vanilla cake (using martha stewart recipe) but am baking the cake Thurs to be served Saturday (need time to decorate Friday). Can I brush with vanilla simple syrup? I am very concerned about the cake becoming tooo sweet. When do I brush the cake? Can I cut some of the sugar out of the initial recipe and then brush the cake? Please help! Thanks in advance.

8 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 2:49am
post #2 of 9

If the cake is baked properly (not overdone) then there is no need at all to brush it with anything. Pay attention to the smell of the cake while it is baking, regardless of what time the recipe says. As soon as it smells "done", look at it and LIGHTLY touch the surface of the middle to see how it springs (done) or not (give it 5 more minutes).

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 3:51am
post #3 of 9

Once it's iced, it can't dry out... the icing will hold in the cake's moisture.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 3 Oct 2012 , 3:54am
post #4 of 9

Martha Stewart recipes are notoriously dry. Hopefully this won't be one of them.

Onc the cakes are cool, wrap them in plastic wrap and just leave them out for next day decorating.

I am also not a fan of putting simple syrup on a dry cake. I make sure my recipes are balanced. But because you are trying a new recipe and have no time to re-bake, if you find you need the syrup, just do it. But after that, come back on here and we can help you find a good recipe.

IAN429 Posted 4 Oct 2012 , 4:27am
post #5 of 9