Anyone Get Fake Orders In Their E-Mail?

Business By 2kats Updated 2 Oct 2012 , 1:39pm by costumeczar

2kats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2kats Posted 30 Sep 2012 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 11

I am just starting out my cake business. I'm not even officially licensed until I meet tomorrow with the Health Inspector. I am just setting up my website and e-mail and I have ordered business cards. But the last two days I have gotten weird requests in my e-mail for large orders of cupcakes and they ask for me to give them a total so I can charge their credit card. I know it is a fake request but I wonder how they got my e-mail and what is the purpose of these fake requests? How does it benefit them at all? It is really weird as I am not even officially a business yet. Anyone else get these?

10 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 30 Sep 2012 , 7:36pm
post #2 of 11

The scam engines send you a message to see if it is a legitimate email address. They search for combinations of letters on a daily basis like "cake" or "bake". There is nothing that you did to get this first message...and you should mark it as spam (rather than just deleting).

heartsnsync Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heartsnsync Posted 30 Sep 2012 , 9:17pm
post #3 of 11

I get them, too and do as BakingIrene suggested and mark them as "spam".

mburkett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mburkett Posted 1 Oct 2012 , 3:31am
post #4 of 11

I've gotten them and so has a wholesale baker at my kitchen. Total scam. They want 500 cupcakes for an upcoming event and they'll send a "private carrier" to pick them up. Mine said they couldn't call because they recently had eye surgery and couldn't use the phone. Hmmmm?????? I don't know how they benefit either.

shanter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2kats Posted 1 Oct 2012 , 12:44pm
post #6 of 11

Wow, I just read the other thread. Scammers are getting very creative these days. So weird.