Need Recommendation For Buttercream Icing!!!

Baking By paigec1210 Updated 28 Sep 2012 , 6:05pm by eperales0411

paigec1210 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paigec1210 Posted 28 Sep 2012 , 4:02am
post #1 of 13

I have been making cakes for several years just for fun when I have time. I have always made the Wilton buttercream recipe, but I can never get it really smooth. Yes, I have tried the paper towel techniques and it helps a little but you can still see some cracks and imperfections. I see people who use post pictures of cakes and the buttercream is so smooth it looks like fondant, so I was just wondering if anyone out there knows what this awesome buttercream recipe is, because I have searched and searched and cannot find it!!! Thanks!!! icon_smile.gif

12 replies
Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 28 Sep 2012 , 11:06am
post #2 of 13

I've had much better luck with both Sharon Zambito's (SugarShack's) and Indydebi's buttercream than with Wilton's recipe. Both of these are in the recipe section here on CC. The addition of the coffee creamer to the first one and Dream Whip powder to the second one seems to make for a much smoother and more spreadable icing. I also got a lot better at using buttercream (not to say that I'm actually good at it yet!) after watching Sharon's buttercream video. It's got a lot of common-sense tips that make the buttercream go on easier and look a lot better.

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 28 Sep 2012 , 12:39pm
post #3 of 13