I'm Thinking About Quitting.

Business By buttercreammgt Updated 26 Sep 2012 , 3:27am by scp1127

buttercreammgt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buttercreammgt Posted 25 Sep 2012 , 2:51am
post #1 of 21

I've been decorating cakes for five years . I love what I do but I'm not a detail person...I don't work well with others...I'm disorganized, scattered, and worst of all forgetful. How do you deal with your flaws or shortcomings in such a highly detailed career? I try so hard to keep it all together but no matter what I end up making silly mistakes. Does anyone else have this problem?

Here are a few of the complaints I've had over the last six months from the other people I work with.

1. Losing tools when taking them off site.
2. Not being considerate of others( my stuff getting in their way.
3. Not calling people back(customers)
4.leaving details out of orders, messy hard to read
5. Being late for design appointments
6. Scheduling an appointment and forgetting
7. Messing up two birthday cake orders by not doing the design how they asked.
8. Leaving messes for someone else to clean up

All I can say is all of these things are valid. I know I did every single one of these mistakes. There is no excuse but none of it was done maliciously or on purpose. A lot of the mistakes happened during really busy times or during highly stressful times. Pretty much just described my profession. I'm always busy and stressed I make huge messes because my orders are huge. Lots of hand painting, sculpting. I'm the only person at the bakery who does custom orders and wedding cakes.

Not sure what to do. My husband wants me to work from home I think that would only makes everything worse. I'm ready to move on and do something else.

20 replies
Diana81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Diana81 Posted 25 Sep 2012 , 2:58am
post #2 of 21

Do u see yourself doing something else or is this your passion?

buttercreammgt Posted 25 Sep 2012 , 3:05am
post #3 of 21