Please Help With Cake Baking

Decorating By jen4230 Updated 29 Sep 2012 , 2:25pm by jen4230

jen4230 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jen4230 Posted 23 Sep 2012 , 12:49pm
post #1 of 8

Ok I have been making cakes for about 13 yrs but I always use store bought cake mixes. I want to learn how to make cakes from scratch. I have no idea how much of each ingredients or what are the best ingredients to use. I would also like to come up with my own flavors but how do you know what and how much of each ingredient to use? Please help and tell me any tips or ideas you may have that you can share with me.. Thank you icon_redface.gif

7 replies
Diana81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Diana81 Posted 23 Sep 2012 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 8

Someone shared this site with me: www.joyofbaking.com. They not only give u recipes, but also explain that when u bake, u need to understand the function of each ingredient and how to use them.

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 23 Sep 2012 , 5:13pm
post #3 of 8

Invest in a copy of book The Cake Bible. It's awesome!

jen4230 Posted 24 Sep 2012 , 3:33pm
post #4 of 8

First I want to say thank you to everyone that responded. I will definately look into the web site and find the book. Secondly I should add that yes I have been making cakes for 13 yrs but i am self taught and only make them for family and friends. I don't sell them. This is why I am trying to find information I keep thinking more and more about how I would love to start my own cake business but I want to make my OWN cakes created from my own recipes and never made one from scratch so I want to start experimenting to see if I could really do it or if i should just keep it as a hobby which it is now. Again thank you I love Cake Central I get so much great information, advice, and great ideas. icon_biggrin.gif

Diana81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Diana81 Posted 24 Sep 2012 , 3:38pm
post #5 of 8