How Do I Make My Own Wedding Cake!

Decorating By rivers2Bgray Updated 2 Aug 2012 , 7:07pm by kristiemarie

rivers2Bgray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rivers2Bgray Posted 31 Jul 2012 , 6:51am
post #1 of 15

I need help! I'm not an expert baker but do make nice cakes. I am getting married next may but unfortunately don't have £100's to spend on a cake as much as I'd love to. I have seen a 4 tier cake I like its chocolate sponge which I can make but have never done on such a big scale. Please can I have some tips on how to make sure my cake is cooked through, how to stack them and what equipment I need to use (aside from the obvious)

Thanks in advance

Xxxx
LL

14 replies
Addictive_desserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Addictive_desserts Posted 31 Jul 2012 , 7:01am
post #2 of 15

1.Use nail flowers or baking strips for even cooking.
2. Check out the wilton method of stacking
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/stacked-tiered-cake-construction.cfm
3. Decide on whether you want buttercream or fondant finish.
4. YouTube has a lot of videos to up your skills
5. Practice, practice and practice- its not easy doing a big cake let alone doing it for your own wedding!

cherrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cherrycakes Posted 31 Jul 2012 , 11:37am
post #3 of 15

For a cake like this I would be tempted in asking a trusted friend or family member for some help. Once the cake is stacked, placing the chocolates on is very simple but having someone else do it could free up some very valuable time for you. Addictive_desserts has given you some great advice for the stacking. And I agree, you need to practice at every opportunity that you can between now and your wedding! Good luck!

ibeeflower Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibeeflower Posted 31 Jul 2012 , 6:47pm
post #4 of 15