Which Rolling Pin Is Best To Use For Fondant?

Decorating By lisa728 Updated 22 Feb 2014 , 12:50am by Leahmaria7981

lisa728 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lisa728 Posted 31 Jul 2012 , 4:01am
post #1 of 10

Hi, I'm new at using fondant and I've also been out of the cake decorating scene for a while, it's amazing what's gone on with fondant in the past 5+ years. I found an 18" Aluminum Rolling Pin at Food Service Warehouse (I believe it's restaurant quality) for $22.49 and from what I've read this type is one of the best to use with fondant, is that true? Is this a good price? Are the marble rolling pins good for fondant also? My daughter is having a baby, I've decided to make the cake (jungle theme), but I'm on a small budget. I want to make sure I only get what I need, but at a good price. Can you guys help me out? Thank YOU!!!!icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
kakedecorator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakedecorator Posted 4 Aug 2012 , 4:39am
post #2 of 10

In my opinion there is not right or wrong one. It is just what works best for you. I have several different kinds and I always seem to fall back on the old wooden one that was my grandmothers. Some decorators even use a piece of PVC piping.

sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 4 Aug 2012 , 8:25am
post #3 of 10

I purchased a couple different types of rolling pins but my favorite is my marble rolling pin. The weight of the marble makes it easier to roll out my fondant. My husband broke my first marble rolling pin so my mother gave me hers boy was he lucky.lol

milkmaid42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
milkmaid42 Posted 4 Aug 2012 , 4:59pm
post #4 of 10

I have a marble one that I love and use for pie crusts. But my favorite for fondant is the 3" diameter aluminum one I saw Sharon Zambito use in her DVDs. I promptly ordered one and haven't regretted it. That, combined with The Mat, has made fondant a breeze.

Jan

101Food Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile