Transfat Vs. No Transfat

Decorating By JanDunlevy Updated 8 Jul 2012 , 1:57am by BlakesCakes

JanDunlevy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanDunlevy Posted 7 Jul 2012 , 11:41am
post #1 of 8

Since I am very new to cake decorating I have been reading and scouring information throughout these forums to try and learn from those of you that are quite experienced in the realm of decorating. Could someone explain to me how the transfat being removed from shortening has made a difference? Is it texture, durability, application or what? I had read that Richfood brand shortening still contained the transfat so I have purchased some. I have tried hi ratio shortening as well. I do not see a lot of difference in the end result but maybe I don't know what to look for. Any input is greatly appreciated.

7 replies
sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 7 Jul 2012 , 6:53pm
post #2 of 8

By removing the fat liquids and colors don't mix well. Crisco says to add a little meringue powder to your frosting or even a little cornstarch or flour to counteract the change. You can also add some fat back into your frosting when using trans fat free shortening by using whole milk instead of water. Some bakers have also noted what they call the grease slick on the roof of your mouth when using Crisco. I have been using a trans fat free icing shortening that I purchase at my local cake supply store. If I am in a pinch I will use a store brand shortening that still contains a small amount of trans fat. I don't like adding meringue powder to my frosting's so I stopped using Crisco.

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 7 Jul 2012 , 6:58pm
post #3 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweettreat101

Some bakers have also noted what they call the grease slick on the roof of your mouth when using Crisco.

That grease slick has been present for years, long before the no-transfat episode. And not only in Crisco.