First Time "ganacher" Here...

Decorating By debidehm Updated 5 Jul 2012 , 10:52am by mcaulir

debidehm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debidehm Posted 2 Jul 2012 , 8:11pm
post #1 of 9

I've decided to give chocolate ganache a try. I've already made it, and now just getting the nerve up to cover the cake with it! I've never made it before, and have never tasted it before (that is until I tried what I made). It's good...it's rich. I'm just finding myself a little intimidated by the stuff. Does anyone have any tips for me before I do my final walk into the kitchen to start the "cover-up"?

8 replies
Bobeba Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bobeba Posted 2 Jul 2012 , 8:29pm
post #2 of 9

are you going to pour it or spread it?

to pour it. i have never done it before, but i have read that you should take some gananche that is spreadable to fill in any holes or indent. then put your cake on a wire rack on top of a cookie sheet and start pouring from the centre. i think that there are some good youtube videos.

to spread it, just wait until it cools and thickens, then spread it like any other frosting.

ganache is yummy!

debidehm Posted 2 Jul 2012 , 8:31pm
post #3 of 9

I was thinking of spreading it since I want to cover with fondant.

AKS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AKS Posted 2 Jul 2012 , 8:32pm
post #4 of 9

There is a three part YouTube video by inspiredbymichelle that really gives an excellent start to finish explanation of how to do things. I definitely recommend you watching it. Good luck!

trebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trebakes Posted 2 Jul 2012 , 8:37pm
post #5 of 9

I also just made my first batch. Mine is white chocolate ratio is 3:1. It's so SWEET. Hopefully it won't be after it sets. I wanted to cover the whole cake with rosettes made from this stuff. I don't know now. I won't be putting it on the cake until it sets up.

Good luck to both if us. Let me know how yours turns out and I'll do the same icon_smile.gif