Dusting Gumpaste Flowers, Help!

Decorating By step0nmi Updated 21 Jun 2012 , 2:40pm by step0nmi

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 21 Jun 2012 , 3:04am
post #1 of 7

So, i'm pretty new to the dusting gumpaste flowers thing. I am pretty good at making flowers look sort of good, but then when it comes to the dusting I can see there are places where the petal dust is not taking, crazy lines in my gumpaste, and seeing all the imperfections of the gumpaste.

HELP! I don't have time to redo them and they are for a cake this weekend. I would like to fix what I have and i heard that if you just keep dusting them they will look better...but one of them has that elephant ear look because I must not have made it quick enough icon_sad.gif

what can i do!?

6 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 21 Jun 2012 , 4:01am
post #2 of 7

Hi, the elephant ear look does sound like taking too long to make the petals. Dust not taking, can be from shortening that got on them. That happens, i know. What name brand dust are you using. If it is wilton, it takes a little more of any color of theirs than other brands. I have wilton(i teach g/p flower classes). I have other brands that take color better. So , what brand are you using., i might can help better. I always steam my flowers after dusting. Makes them shine a little and sets the dust. Wish we could see your flowers. Can you take a pic and send it . Love to help you more. Been making g/p flowers for 17 yrs. Took classes with the best teachers out there. hth

step0nmi Posted 21 Jun 2012 , 4:08am
post #3 of 7

icer101 thanks for the help! I am using the CK petal dust. i think what you're saying about there maybe being some shortening on it where it's not taking the dust could be an issue. right now I don't have my camera to upload pics icon_sad.gif sorry.