How Much To Charge For Tiered Cakes?

Decorating By thebittersweetbakehouse Updated 25 Feb 2015 , 5:26pm by Apti

thebittersweetbakehouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thebittersweetbakehouse Posted 20 Jun 2012 , 2:17pm
post #1 of 38

I know it totally depends on the decorative elements required, but for a starting point, how much would all you lovely baking buddies out there charge as a base rate for two and three tiered cakes?

Im a home baker, relatively new to the business and learning everyday...but the prices for any cake seems to vary so much from home baker to shop and back again, i thought i would pick all your brains to see if there's a general consensus of agreement on here!

Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

37 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 20 Jun 2012 , 3:54pm
post #2 of 38

I charge $3.50 for buttercream and $4.50 for fondant for tiered cakes. This does not mean that's how much you should charge, though. Click the link in my signature for an article on this subject that a lot of people find helpful. thumbs_up.gif

thebittersweetbakehouse Posted 20 Jun 2012 , 4:25pm
post #3 of 38

thank youicon_smile.gif

From your reply i'm hazarding a guess you are based in the US...am i right in thinking you work out many cake prices based on a $ per slice basis?

I'm based in the UK and have noticed it tends to be materials + labour costs, then i guess extra for intricacy of design, here. And nearly all my cakes are fondant.

Im definitely finding pricing the hardest part! Thankyou for your advice.

cai0311 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cai0311 Posted 20 Jun 2012 , 4:47pm
post #4 of 38

There are many, many, many posts about pricing. I suggest doing a quick search in the forums.

Basically, you must calculate what you have in the cake (and this is not just flour, sugar, eggs...it is also electricity, water, paper towels, soap, insurance, licensing fee...) and your hourly rate x hours you worked on the cake.