Cookie Icing

Decorating By gedge Updated 20 Jun 2012 , 8:42am by Chellescakes

gedge Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gedge Posted 15 Jun 2012 , 1:42pm
post #1 of 6

I am new to cake decorating and am also trying to make cookies as well. I see in the picture gallery that people have cookies so perfectly decorated with icing, how is that done?
What type of icing are people using on their cookies and how are you applying it? I am hosting a baby shower at the end of July and bought a bib and onesie cookie cutter and want to decorate but in the past any icing I use on my sugar cookies is runny and messy looking, help?

5 replies
heyjules Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heyjules Posted 15 Jun 2012 , 2:06pm
post #2 of 6

I use royal icing on my cookies. I think it's easy and it tastes great, and I can use tons of shades. Takes forever to dry though. But a lot of people use fondant. I haven't tried that yet, but I think they say to put the fondant on as soon as it comes out of the oven.

JGMB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JGMB Posted 15 Jun 2012 , 2:10pm
post #3 of 6

I use glace, a mixture of powdered sugar, light corn syrup and milk. It gets hard enough on the surface so that you can stack the cookies, but stays soft on the inside for a good "mouth feel." PM me if you'd like a quick tutorial.

Pearl645 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pearl645 Posted 15 Jun 2012 , 3:38pm
post #4 of 6