New And Needs Help!

Decorating By Shell21 Updated 10 Jun 2012 , 8:49pm by Prima

Shell21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shell21 Posted 10 Jun 2012 , 3:05pm
post #1 of 4

Hey,

I'm new to cake decorating, I have made one cake before, for Christmas, which didn't turn out too bad, but now I have been asked by my soon to be sister-in-law to make a cake for her hen do/garden party. She wants me to make her, and 3 of the bridesmaids.

I have attempted to the bride and me, one of the bridesmaids, but they haven't turned out great, I couldn't get the shape, as it kept shrinking if I left it to harden, and the paste kept cracking, I added more and more paste, which led to quite chubby figures, and they did not need to be icon_sad.gif does anyone have advice for what I could do to improve on this? I did insert a cocktail stick into each to hold on the heads and hoped it would help support the body, unfortunately it did not. They're also leaning backwards, which wasn't the plan.

I was also wondering if anyone could give me ideas on what else I could put on the cake? I was going to put a layer of grass, and flowers around the base. I wanted to put some writing, but I have no idea what I could put.

Thank you icon_biggrin.gif

These are what I have so far:

3 replies
auntginn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntginn Posted 10 Jun 2012 , 6:15pm
post #2 of 4

Are you using gumpaste? And is it premade, a mix or recipe made? I like to use fondant and add tylose to it. Gumpaste tends to dry out & crack, so can fondant if it is to dry. The tylose will firm up the fondant but not dry it out like gumpaste. I also rub a little vegetable shortening on my hands while I am working on my objects.

Shell21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shell21 Posted 10 Jun 2012 , 8:31pm
post #3 of 4

I use sugarpaste, I think it is the same thing? I buy mine pre-made, I think I will purchase some tylose and see how I go with that. Thank you.

Prima Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile