Will Frosted Cupcakes Dry Uncovered In Fridge?

Baking By pumpkinpatchquilter Updated 7 May 2012 , 12:58pm by pumpkinpatchquilter

pumpkinpatchquilter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pumpkinpatchquilter Posted 4 May 2012 , 1:03pm
post #1 of 6

Hi there, I couldn't find a definitive answer after searching Cake Central and Google, can someone here help me? I'm a new baker and have made 24 cupcakes to go along with my daughters birthday cake for her first birthday party tomorrow. Right now they are in airtight containers in my fridge, as I made them at about midnight last night! They are still nice and moist, but I want to frost them this morning so they will lock in the moisture for tomorrow. I'm planning to place round fondant circles that have been drying for over a day on top with little pink fondant bows (that I will be making today) to make "minnie mouse" ears after the buttercream hardens a bit. My problem is that after frosting the cupcakes, even without the ears, the container I have the cupcakes in won't be deep enough, and frosting will stick to the top. If I leave these uncovered in my fridge overnight, will they dry out terribly? Should I wait until late in the day so they aren't uncovered as long to frost them? I know many people suggest not refridgerating them, but we are having a heat wave and I'm concerned the buttercream will melt if I leave them out on the counter - not to mention I have kitties and don't want to take a chance.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer! I should add a good friend of mine who will be attending the party is an avid baker and known really well in this area for her cupcakes...I don't want to subject her (or my ego) to dry cupcakes! icon_smile.gif

5 replies
socosweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
socosweets Posted 5 May 2012 , 2:05am
post #2 of 6