Cake Price

Business By cadonnellan Updated 14 Sep 2005 , 3:44pm by twindees

cadonnellan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cadonnellan Posted 13 Sep 2005 , 8:44pm
post #1 of 9

Hope I can get some feedback on just a quick question about pricing. I just spoke with a couple last night about making their wedding cake and they've already decided they want me, but I'm nervous now about the price I gave them. They're telling me the invite is about 125, so roughly a cake for 100 so I told them $200. Now I think I charged too little, but don't want to revise, plus my husband works with the groom so I don't want to be picky. It's been a year since I did my last wedding cake, and this couple was at that wedding and loved that cake so they came to me. I need to buy some pillars since I am very new to wedding cakes (this will #3) so there is more added to the cost for me. Any advise?

8 replies
cakeconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeconfections Posted 13 Sep 2005 , 8:50pm
post #2 of 9

I start my prices at about 2.00 per slice. So you are a little low. And that is for a very basic simple design. A way to figure if you are not comfortable with pricing you could always figure out what it costs you and charge 3x that.

ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 13 Sep 2005 , 8:59pm
post #3 of 9

That would make the cake about $2 a serving.. I'm not sure where you live .. where I live, the going rate is about $1.50 a serving which is what I charge. If there is a lot of detail, or they want anything other than icing flowers, the price goes up accordingly. I compensate myself for going to pick up the flowers, etc too...

as far as you're having to purchase pillars, etc., I don't charge for that because you get to keep that afterwards... I chalk mine up to an "investment"

aunt-judy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aunt-judy Posted 13 Sep 2005 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 9