Venting About Copyright Law

Business By Krista512 Updated 9 Mar 2012 , 5:38pm by jason_kraft

Krista512 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Krista512 Posted 6 Mar 2012 , 12:48am
post #1 of 24

im new to starting my home based business since it is now legal with the texas cottage food law. I have lost 7 cake oppertunnities this week because of the copyright law. this is so discouraging. how can i possibly make money if i cant make cakes that people want. everyone wants character cakes. Turned down, alice and wonderland, sponge bob, brobee, sesame street, mickey mouse, dora and hello kitty. I have no orders and these other 8 decorators in my area probably just got new customers. im getting so discouraged. i offer to use party packs and make a scene or decorate in other ways using party packs but no one will say yes. they want a mickey or hello kitty head and such. how do i get over this hump.

23 replies
AmysCakesNCandies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmysCakesNCandies Posted 6 Mar 2012 , 2:29am
post #2 of 24

Depending on the character you can sometimes suggest a design that works with a theme or colors that coordinate with the character. (i.e Strawberry shortcake- a pink and lime green designed cake with small fondant strawberies and blossoms, etc) I typically suggest this when people request licenced characters and about half the time customers will go with it as long as a present a clear design idea. I always explain that I do not have the licensing righs to the characters unless thet want a character set or doll cake. I will however do character for my own families cakes (not customers)

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 6 Mar 2012 , 8:58am
post #3 of 24

You haven't lost seven opportunities because they were never opportunities. This is where the problem is. If you can't convert them to a legal cake, then hang up and say, "Next". Don't mentally spend the money because it wasn't a real order.