How Would You Handle This? (Long And A Little Drama-Ish)

Lounge By karateka Updated 14 Feb 2012 , 8:53pm by karateka

karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 12 Feb 2012 , 11:46pm
post #1 of 10

I have been a student at this dojo for 9 years. Last year I test for and passed my 3rd degree black belt, and was given the title of Sensei, something I'd worked hard to attain for the previous 8 yrs.

The owner has always seemed to like me. He's treated me well, and has been very supportive and has never blown me off or treated me ill. I have a lot of respect for him, still.

The other main teacher there is a Sensei, one rank higher than me. She seems very sweet and wonderful, but obviously dislikes me. I say obviously, but I'm not sure it is obvious to many besides me and my son. The owner has noticed some issues between us and has spoken to her......but gotten nowhere. I tried talking to her, and we didn't resolve much between us except for the most recent difference, which was put off on the owner, as yelling at her for allowing this, then telling me to do that.

Truth is, I have noticed discrepancies like this before. As wonderful as he has always been to me.....I don't always agree with him, and I think he can be a bit contradictory at times. He is also very strict in the martial way....he's the master, we are not, he's the boss, its his way or the highway. I understand this...martial arts dojos are very militaristic that way.

We have an annual banquet where there is a reserved table that the master and his wife and daughter (also a master) sit, plus the other Sensei from above and another Sensei from a remote location associated with us. I have never sat there. I have not been invited, and I assumed that it was mostly because there are only 10 seats at the table, so with all the other senseis and teachers, it was impossible to include me and my family. I was never upset by this before last night.