Gluten Free Cake

Baking By DinasSugarShack Updated 11 Feb 2012 , 10:13pm by LoriMc

DinasSugarShack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DinasSugarShack Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 2:00pm
post #1 of 10

I was asked to make a gluten free cake. I have never done one before so I am in need of some help.
Do you use a mix or do you have a good recipe? Also, in terms of filling and icing, is there a special gluten free recipe?
Thanks for all the help
Dina

9 replies
gbbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gbbaker Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 2:34pm
post #2 of 10

I love Betty Hagman's ccokbooks for gluten free baking, also the Bob's Redmill site has some great recipes.

inspiredbymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
inspiredbymom Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 2:43pm
post #3 of 10

Well, I can only tell you about my experiences with a client that asked me to make gluten free cakes for her. First off, what kind of tolerance does your customer have? If they react to even the slightest traces of gluten, you can contaminate the product if you are not working in a dedicated kitchen. My client had somewhat tolerance so I had to make hers 24 hours after baking my regular items and made sure that even the oven and cabinet doors were wiped down. Even the cleanest pans/mixer/oven can harbor small amounts if used in regular baking. What made mine particularly challenging is that she was also allergic to cornstarch!

Now, having said that, there is a product called Pamela's that a lot of people like. You can add flavors to it (and they have that on the package) to make it your own. My client did not care for the mix, so I had to make mine from scratch. I made an orange cake w/almond flour and a lemon cake w/a lemon glaze for her. I will be more than happy to pm them to you if you are interested.