Different Flour Weight?

Baking By yupi Updated 10 Feb 2012 , 3:14pm by yupi

yupi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yupi Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 5:12am
post #1 of 9

Hi, I'm a newbie baker here. I want to ask about flour weight. Every recipe I've read used cup measurement for flour, so I used some online conversion websites to convert them to grams weight. Problem is, most websites say a cup of AP flour is 125gr, but I tried weighting my flour, and it's only 108gr per cup. I tried weighting a cup of sugar, and I got 200gr, the same weight as the online conversion website, so I guess my measuring cup is good to use.

So I want to ask, should I use 125gr of flour or 108gr of flour? Could it be that the flour in my country weights differently thus it's only 108gr per cup? Oh, and I used the spoon and level method. Thank you in advance for answering icon_smile.gif

8 replies
FullHouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FullHouse Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 10:02pm
post #2 of 9

I use the weight listed on the nutrition label and just multiply it out. I think its 4 grams per tsp., but double check just in case I'm misremembering, that may be the sugar weight. I wrote out the calculated weights on a sticky and keep that on my canister. I don't have it handy now, or I'd share my calculations.

auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auzzi Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 5:11am
post #3 of 9

yupi - where are you? and what volume cup are you using to measure your flour with ?

Generally speaking, online converters are US-based. The US measuring cup is based on 8 fl.oz or 236.5ml [240ml rounded].

1 cup [240ml] all-purpose = 4.2 ounces [120 grams] per cup.

Notes:
An Australia measuring cup is based on 250ml volume. It holds 150g plain flour.

kaat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaat Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 11:07am
post #4 of 9

It depends whether the flour is scooped, spooned or sifted. I measure my flour by spooning it in to the measuring cup unless the recipe call for sifted.