"vegetarian Centric" ... Not Vegan

Baking By Olenmetra Updated 31 Jan 2012 , 4:59pm by TexasSugar

Olenmetra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Olenmetra Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 2:42pm
post #1 of 3

I have a vegetarian centric group that I want to prepare some cakes/desserts for. I don't have a "clear" understanding about what it is (besides the obvious "vegetables"). What can or can't you use in a vegetarian centric diet? Can anyone give me some recipes?

2 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 2:45pm
post #2 of 3

I've been vegetarian for 30 years. Generally, vegetarians eat eggs and dairy, so desserts are really not a problem.

Some people who call themselves vegetarian also eat fish and seafood. In recent years they've become known as pescatarian.

I've even met vegetarians over the years who eat eggs, dairy, fish, seafood and chicken, but not pork or red meat.

It's a term that does have some individual meaning to the individuals who choose it.

ASK the people in this particular group if you need specifics.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 4:59pm
post #3 of 3

I would ask them, because some are more hard core than others. Some won't use certain powder sugars because there is something animal related in the process of making it. Some also won't use geletin, which is in some fondants, because it is an animal bi product.

Quote by @%username% on %date%