"vegetarian Centric" ... Not Vegan

Baking By Olenmetra Updated 1 Feb 2012 , 12:18am by Adevag

Olenmetra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Olenmetra Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 2:25pm
post #1 of 3

I have a vegetarian centric group that I want to prepare some cakes/desserts for. I don't have a "clear" understanding about what it is (besides the obvious "vegetables"). What can or can't you use in a vegetarian centric diet? Can anyone give me some recipes?

2 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 2:42pm
post #2 of 3

I've been vegetarian for 30 years. Generally, vegetarians eat eggs and dairy, so desserts are really not a problem.

Some people who call themselves vegetarian also eat fish and seafood. In recent years they've become known as pescatarian.

I've even met vegetarians over the years who eat eggs, dairy, fish, seafood and chicken, but not pork or red meat.

It's a term that does have some individual meaning to the individuals who choose it.

ASK the people in this particular group if you need specifics.

Adevag Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Adevag Posted 1 Feb 2012 , 12:18am
post #3 of 3

I think it's better you ask your group. The ingredient that can be found in desserts that would bother a vegetarian would be gelatin. So piping gels, some home made fondant recipes etc.

Quote by @%username% on %date%