Non-Dairy Durable Cake?

Baking By Tz1ona Updated 22 Jan 2013 , 5:55pm by newmamaj

Tz1ona Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tz1ona Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 3:25am
post #1 of 11

Hi All,
I am new to cake decorating. I just made my first carved cake. I used what I thought would be a durable chocolate cake, but it wasn't, and it began to sag icon_sad.gif I looked under the durable recipes here, and they all, (with the exception of one white cake), have dairy ingredients. Does anyone have a flavorful, perhaps chocolate, durable NON-DAIRY cake recipe for carving and/or maintain integrity under fondant? Thank you so much in advance.

10 replies
Tails Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tails Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 10:32am
post #2 of 11

I think one will be ok for carving cos its a fairly dense cake (just super moist lol) icon_smile.gif and its dairy free icon_smile.gif

http://cakecentral.com/recipe/wacky-cake-2

Tz1ona Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 11:48am
post #3 of 11

Thanks! I will definitely give it a try!

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 1:58pm
post #4 of 11

The Wacky Cake is very nice, but somewhat soft. You can take most cake recipes and substitute for dairy ingredients. Such as margarine instead of butter, or another liquid instead of milk (soy milk, coffee, juice, or water, etc). Also, there are excellent vegan products found in most stores, even in supermarkets. So if there are any recommended recipes you know will work, try making a substitution.

Tz1ona Posted 31 Jan 2012 , 2:40pm
post #5 of 11

Thanks. I was actually wondering if people thought if milk in recipes could be replaced with non-dairy creamer or soy milk. Can sour cream be replaced with tofu sour cream and maintain the integrity (and taste)?

bonniebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bonniebakes Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 1:06am
post #6 of 11