Using Real Lace Or Fondant Lace With Impression Mat

Decorating By cyncamp Updated 23 Jan 2012 , 10:47pm by icer101

cyncamp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cyncamp Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 6:08pm
post #1 of 13

My neighbour's daughter is giving me a lot of creative freedom with her wedding cake though she has requested lace border on the 2 of the 4 tiers. She gave me actual lace and said to use it if I wanted...but it's pure white and I don't think it will look nice with the off-white fondant. I have no experience making lace with molds or impression mats and wondered if anyone could share some tips with me? I have a few more weeks and want to practice. Thank you!

12 replies
cakebaker1957 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebaker1957 Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 2:16am
post #2 of 13

Im not sure why she gave you real lace? But if you have a lace mat you can use that just lay it over your fondant and use your rolling pin and roll over it , it should work.Also you could use the plastic placemats that look like lace you can find them at Dollar Trees and maybe at Micheals,
Hope this helps

dsilvest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilvest Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 2:55am
post #3 of 13

You can make a temporary inexpensive mold or texture mat by using Model Magic and the lace. It will last a while but will eventually dry out and break. It would last until you finished the cake though.

SarahBeth3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SarahBeth3 Posted 23 Jan 2012 , 2:19am
post #4 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsilvest

You can make a temporary inexpensive mold or texture mat by using Model Magic and the lace. It will last a while but will eventually dry out and break. It would last until you finished the cake though.

Where can you get Model Magic?

dsilvest Posted 23 Jan 2012 , 6:18pm
post #5 of 13

You can buy Model Magic at Michaels, Joann Fabrics, Walmart - just about anywhere that sells craft supplies. The smaller amounts come in resealable bags.