Best Way To Make A Mold, Where To Get A Printer??

Decorating By Debbye27 Updated 26 Jan 2012 , 12:49am by icingimages

Debbye27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debbye27 Posted 20 Jan 2012 , 3:36pm
post #1 of 7

My brother is coming home from a long tour in Afghaniston next month....and all he wants is a drink!!

I want to make a beer cooler cake filled with sugar bottles and sugar ice- but have never worked with isomalt- I am a beginner in the cake decorating. I want to make my own molds for the bottles as well.

I have seen a lot of these cakes- and am wondering what is the best way to make the molds? Some use pourable silicone-some use a putty.... just looking for words of advice on what has worked for others.

Also...the labels.... do people actually eat the bottles? I've never seen isomalt objects before. At first I wanted to go with edible lables- but no one around here that I know of will sell edible images... I may invest in a printer- but only have 3 weeks, and don't really know where to start with getting a printer and ink- so was thinking of just putting the paper label back on the bottle... unless anyone has really good advice on where to get a printer and edible ink...b/c I know I'd use it again if I invested in one....

I'm a little nervous with this one- but very excited to try new techniques- so any advice is welcome here!!!!

6 replies
Rusti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rusti Posted 20 Jan 2012 , 8:36pm
post #2 of 7

you need to go to makeyourownmolds.com
I think there is a thread on here about it but Dominick will have everything you need and there is a tutorial for it.
Good luck

Rusti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rusti Posted 20 Jan 2012 , 8:37pm
post #3 of 7

you need to go to makeyourownmolds.com
I think there is a thread on here about it but Dominick will have everything you need and there is a tutorial for it.
Good luck

Debbye27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debbye27 Posted 20 Jan 2012 , 8:40pm
post #4 of 7