I Want To Make Those Cupcakes With The Big Tall Fluffy Icing

Baking By peacenique Updated 8 Feb 2012 , 8:18pm by Debbye27

peacenique Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peacenique Posted 17 Jan 2012 , 12:04am
post #1 of 15

So I have to make something for a baby shower in a couple of weeks.
I've decided on cupcakes.
I'm wondering what kind of icing is used for those big tall fluffy swirls.
You know the ones that look like the icing swirl is taller than the cupcake itself?
I don't want it to be too heavy or too sweet though. Is that asking for the impossible?
I've never tried to make those swirls before. I'm assuming you would use one of the bigger star tips...

Thank you.

14 replies
msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 17 Jan 2012 , 1:00am
post #2 of 15

Hi

When I want to get Large?tall Swirls, I usually use a 2D Star tip or a 1M Star tip.

Maybe some of the other CCrs can help too.

HTH

Bridgette1129 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bridgette1129 Posted 17 Jan 2012 , 1:33am
post #3 of 15

I would use a buttercream. American buttercream would work best but it's really sweet. You could try a Swiss or Italian Meringue Buttercream. And just pipe it in a swirl with any large tip.

Spooky_789 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spooky_789 Posted 18 Jan 2012 , 10:42pm
post #4 of 15

Adding some popcorn salt to your American buttercream will help cut back on its sweetness. 1 teaspoon per 2-4 pound batch. Taste and adjust accordingly.

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 18 Jan 2012 , 11:05pm
post #5 of 15

I know what you are talking about, but just to be sure, are you talking about hi-hat cupcakes?

http://www.bakerella.com/hi-hat-cupcakes/

Cupcations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cupcations Posted 19 Jan 2012 , 7:42am
post #6 of 15

Try using Indydebis Crisco-Based Buttercream Icing, you can never go wrong with that and use Wilton tip 1M.