Rather Large Cookie Undertaking... Need Advice

Baking By planetsomsom Updated 8 Jul 2012 , 6:28pm by GeminiRJ

planetsomsom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
planetsomsom Posted 29 Dec 2011 , 6:55am
post #1 of 13

Hey there!

I finished a pastry arts program a year ago and since then my employers (I work in a restaurant) have figured it out and sometimes I make cookies at work instead of my actual job (dishwashing... sad I know) so it's all good. The last big project I had at work was 400+ cupcakes for a big party plus a 3 tier faux cake centerpiece and it went better than expected. How it tends to go is they buy the ingredients and equipment, I bake while on the clock so that there is no actual cost to me. It's less than stellar, but I like a little variety in my life.

So now I have another huge project, but it's for cookies. Cookies for 1000 people!!! Specifically, coffee flavoured cookies that aren't too sweet, of which I've never heard... but I'm still picking my jaw up off of the floor about the quantity.

400 cupcakes wasn't too bad... it took several hours that I would have spent at work anyway. I'm hoping cookies will be slightly faster than cupcakes. Maybe I'm wrong... We've got many many full sized trays, a 60qt hobart and two convection ovens so I'm sure it must be possible.

I'm here today because I was wondering how I would even calculate the quantity of cookies for this project. The forum search isn't very good. Do I really need to make 3000 cookies? or is it a matter of percentage (in case of lack of interest, or not even noticing that there are cookies in a room filled with 1000 people!?)

12 replies
Relznik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Relznik Posted 29 Dec 2011 , 9:45am
post #2 of 13

Surely it depends on the size of the cookie? And are they decorated?

For that many, I'd be looking to make them a decent size (no harder to cut out a larger cookie than a small one) so you can make 1 per person.